Possible Penalties for a DUI

Leave a Comment

Possible Penalties for a DUI

Illinois has an implied consent law:

This means that if you refuse to submit to a chemical test such a breathalyzer (on the field or back at the station), you may be face a fine and an automatic license suspension.

1st Offense 2d offense 3rd Offense
Refusal to take test 1 year license suspension 3 years license suspension 3 years license suspension

What are the penalties for a DUI in Illinois?

1st Offense 2d offense 3rd Offense
Jail Up to 1 year Up to 1 year 3 to 7 years
Fines and Penalties Up to $2,500 Up to $2,500 Up to $2,500
License Suspension Min. 1 year Min. 5 years Min. 10 years
IID** Required Yes Yes Yes

A first time DUI is usually a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a $2,500 fine. Additionally, you may be asked to take alcohol classes, pay a fine, and/or perform community service.

However, Some aggravating factors such as Driving on a Suspended License, not having a proper license, or high speeding during the DUI, may increase the charge to Aggravated DUI. To get a better grasp of your individual possible penalties, it is best to speak to an attorney about your specific facts.

The Secretary of State automatically suspends your driver’s license when you are charged with a DUI. The length of this suspention depends on whether you took the field sobriety tests or breathalyzer.

The Secretary of State will mail you a notice that tells you the dates of your suspension. If you hire an experienced DUI attorney promptly, you may be able to get your suspension thrown out. This does not mean that you “win” your DUI case. Likewise, if you win your DUI, you still might have a suspended license. The Secretary of State and the Criminal Court operate on two different levels; so a finding in one does not necessarily have to affect the other.

For more information visit www.quintanalawgroup.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *