Illinois Sex Abuse Statute of LimitationsLeave a Comment
The State of Illinois takes personal conduct in regards to contact with other individuals very seriously. If you’ve been accused of a sexual related crimes or sex abuse in the State of Illinois, do not hesitate and contact Quintana Law Group now.
SEX ABUSE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS – IL SB 189
Previous Governor, Bruce Rauner, and The State of Illinois legislation signed SB 189 into effect in August of 2017. The legislation amends chapter 38, sections 3-6, of the Illinois Criminal Code to eliminate a time guard for reporting [AP report] felony sex crimes and sex crimes against children. Under the previous code a victim of these sex crimes had to report the crime within 20 years of reaching age 18. The statute now reads:
When the victim is under 18 years of age at the time of the offense, a prosecution for criminal sexual assault, aggravated criminal sexual assault, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual abuse, or felony criminal sexual abuse may be commenced at any time when corroborating physical evidence is available or an individual who is required to report an alleged or suspected commission of any of these offenses under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act fails to do so.
The changes above expanded the time period and circumstances under which a person can be prosecuted from sex abuse and sex crimes. Some of the crimes covered by the bill include child pornography, solicitation for a juvenile prostitute, promoting juvenile prostitution, criminal sexual assault, and sexual conduct toward minors. The legislation took immediate effect.
For more information regarding Illinois legistation, or to speak with an attorney about your legal concerns, contact Quintana Law Group now.
Information from this article was sourced from: